top of page
Hi There

I'm Stephen, I have been working as a chef around the world for almost 20 years now. I love food and I love cooking for my friends, family and most importantly, my 3 year old. On my web site I will be provioding a selection of my favourate recipes that I have cooked at home for my friends and family. 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Soft, sticky and fruity - the Chelsea bun


My love and baking is one of the reasons I started this little project of mine and my love of Chelsea buns is one of the reasons I started baking. Growing up in 1980′s Briton I have fond memories of going food shopping with my farther on a Saturday morning to my local Tescos. The sores back then where not the behemoth that they are now and I remember that if I behave whilst my dad pushed the trolley around my local Allerton Road store I was in for a treat at the cake counter at the exit. There was not the huge choice there is these days, it was between a Chelsea bun, chocolate eclair or sweet finger bun. I would alway try for all three, but when my pleas fell on deaf ears I would always end up going for a chelsea bun. What’s not to love, the sweet, rich dough, the sugary fruit filling and a glaze so sticky you need your dentist on speed dial.

For the dough

175ml milk

50g butter

450g strong flour

2g slat

3 tblsp sugar

7g easy bake yeast

1 egg

For the filling

50g melted butter

75g light muscovado sugar

150g dried mixed fruit

For the glaze

2 tblsp milk

2 tblsp honey

2 tblsp caster sugar

a cake tin 25 cm x 25cm 

Start by making the dough, melt the butter and warm the milk to about 30c and place in a mixing bowl with all of the other dough ingredients. Using a dough hook mix on a medium speed for 10 minutes unit the dough become elastic. Allow the dough to prove until it doubles in size for 1 hour and knock it back. Cut the dough in half and roll out into 2 rectangles 15cm x 40cm. Brush the rolled out dough with the melted butter and sprinkle with sugar and fruit and roll the dough up like a swiss roll along the long side. Cut each roll into 8 equal pieces and place all of the cake tin with 1 cm gap between each one. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 180c for 25 min or until golden brown. Whilst they are cooking place the honey and milk in a bowl and warm in the microwave. When the buns come out of the oven brush the with the glaze and sprinkle ovet the caster sugar. Allow them cool and enjoy.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page