top of page
Hi There

I'm Stephen, I have been working as a chef around the world for almost 20 years now. I love food and I love cooking for my friends, family and most importantly, my 3 year old. On my web site I will be provioding a selection of my favourate recipes that I have cooked at home for my friends and family. 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Meat Free Malaysian Curry


I have not written this blog for a while now due to work commitments and a new side project of mine (www.swphotoimage.com).

So why now? Well I started work in one of the most prestigious schools in the North of England, The King's School Chester. I started there almost 18 months and found myself with a new challenge in my career, to cook for 1600 hungry children and teachers every day, whilst giving them a balanced, yet exciting diet.

At The Kings School we make all sorts of amazing dishes from the fresh sourdough bread we cook the children every day to Greek Gyros, there is certainly never a dull moment.

This dish, however, was one of the first that I put on the menu and has proven, by far, to be the most popular. Every time the dish is on I get a myriad of children, teachers and grounds men begging me for the recipe, and whats more it is entirely vegan.

I have broken down the recipe so that this will serve a family of four.

Ingredients

500g Peeled and diced sweet potato

1 Sliced red onion

1 Diced red pepper

2 Crushed cloves of garlic

1 Sliced red chili

50g Split red lentils

1 Tin chick peas

1 1/2 Tsp of Malaysian curry powder

1 Tblsp of Dried fengreek leaf

1/2 Bunch of fresh coriander roughly chopped

1 Tin coconut milk

500ml Tomato passata

Take the sweet potatoes and fry them in a non-stick pan with a little oil , over a high heat for around 5 minuets, stirring occasionally. add in the sliced onion, diced pepper,chili and garlic. and fry for a further 5 minuets.

Add in the curry powder and coat all of the vegetables, then the coconut milk and passata, the add the frengreek leaf and lentils and simmer for 25 minuets.

Once the lentils have cooked out you should have a thick and creamy curry. Season it to taste and add in the fresh coriander.

Serve it with some hot and fluffy pilaf rice and enjoy.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page