top of page
Hi There

I'm Stephen, I have been working as a chef around the world for almost 20 years now. I love food and I love cooking for my friends, family and most importantly, my 3 year old. On my web site I will be provioding a selection of my favourate recipes that I have cooked at home for my friends and family. 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

The best of british in one dessert - Rhubarb Bakewell


When it comes to baking, the classic Bakewell tart is one of my favorites, full of flavour from the rich buttery short crust pastry to the almond packed frangipane, when paired with fresh fruit it makes a winning combination. So when my breakfast chef and good friend came into work with huge handfuls of my favorite rhubarb freshly picked from the garden I knew what I had to make. Now the only question that remains is custard or ice cream?????

250g shortcrust pastry

500g fresh ripe rhubarb

400g caster sugar

200g ground almonds

200g butter

100g plain flour

4 whole eggs

50g flaked almonds

Cut the rhubarb into 2cm lengths and place them in a bowl with 200g of sugar and toss them together. place the rhubarb on a tray and bake for 15 min at 170c. Whilst the rhubarb is cooking roll out the pastry and line a 10″ tart case with the pastry. Next place the flour, sugar, ground almonds and butter in a mixer and combine for 30 seconds, add in the eggs one at a time and allow them to be combined into a smooth paste. Once the rhubarb is cooked place it in the bottom of the tart shell and cover with the frangipane mixture. Scatter the flaked almonds over the top and bake in a pre-heated oven at 150c for 45 minutes. Remove from the oven and allow to cook completely before decorating with a little icing sugar.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page