top of page
Hi There

I'm Stephen, I have been working as a chef around the world for almost 20 years now. I love food and I love cooking for my friends, family and most importantly, my 3 year old. On my web site I will be provioding a selection of my favourate recipes that I have cooked at home for my friends and family. 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Lamb Rogan Josh - The King of Curries


Everybody loves a good curry, it has become our national dish, everyone has a favourite and this is mine. With deep rich flavours, huge, melt in the mouth, chunks of lamb and just enough heat to give you a satisfying tingle on your lips without having to worry about breaking out into the sweats and running to kitchen sink to guzzle down litres of cold water. Yes give me a rogan josh with an ice cold bottle of beer any day of the week and I am a very happy man.

This recipe was given to me by an Indian chef that I worked with for many years, I don't know how authentic it is, but I don't care that much because all I know is that it tastes just great and leaves me feeling satisfied every time I eat it.

400g diced lamb (Mutton has more flavour and works better for this recipe if you can get hold of it)

1 tbsp of ghee

2 red onions

5 black peppercorns

4 cardamom pods

1/2 tsp of cumin seeds

2 bay leaves

2 cloves of garlic

2 red chillies (de-seeded)

50g fresh ginger

1 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp ground turmeric

1 tbsp tomato paste

1 tbsp ketchup

2 tins of chopped tomato

Place the ghee in a pan along with the finely sliced onion, peppercorns, cardamom, and cumin seeds and cook the onions until they become soft and start to caramelize. Whilst that is happening place the garlic, chilies, fresh ginger, ground spices, tomato paste and ketchup in a blender and blend to form a smooth paste. Once the onions are ready add in the lamb and curry paste and cook for a couple of minutes.

Add in the chopped tomato, bring to a simmer, cover and place in an oven at 140c for 90 minutes or until the meat is tender and soft. Finish with a handful of fresh coriander and serve with a cold beer.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page