top of page
Hi There

I'm Stephen, I have been working as a chef around the world for almost 20 years now. I love food and I love cooking for my friends, family and most importantly, my 3 year old. On my web site I will be provioding a selection of my favourate recipes that I have cooked at home for my friends and family. 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Single malt, festive fudge - The ultimate stocking filler


When it comes to Christmas presents my family are a nightmare to buy for, most years I end up with a scarf from M&S from my Mum and a bottle of something smelly for my Dad. So, most of the time I end up making something a little special out of the pantry to make up for the lack of imagination used on the gift.

This year is no exception and this is what Granddad will be getting for Christmas from my son. Rich creamy fudge finished with a couple of shots of single malt Scotch. They make for an extra special, grown up treat at Christmas time.

This recipe will take a little time but is simple enough to make. Be very carefully when working with boiling sugar as it is very sticky and can burn very easily. I would always recommend working with a sugar thermometer as accurate temperature reading is vital to getting the consistency perfect.

250g butter

800g caster sugar

1 can 397g condensed milk

175ml whole milk

2 tablespoons golden syrup

2 teaspoons vanilla paste

50 ml good single malt Scotch whisky

Place all of the ingredients, except the vanilla and scotch, in a heavy bottomed pan and place over a medium heat.

As the mixture becomes liquid stir it continually whilst it boils. Place your sugar thermometer in the pan and bring the mixture up to soft ball temperature of 116c and remove it from the heat.

Start to use whisk at this point and whisk in the vanilla and whisky. Continue to whisk the cooling mixture until it thickens slightly. This should take about 10 minutes and will cause the Toffee to become fudge.

Place the fudge in a silicon tray, if you have one, or a lined baking tray and pop it in the fridge for a couple of hours to set before cutting it.

Wrap it in some clear plastic cellophane and tie it with some tartan ribbon before giving to your loved ones on Christmas day.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page