top of page
Hi There

I'm Stephen, I have been working as a chef around the world for almost 20 years now. I love food and I love cooking for my friends, family and most importantly, my 3 year old. On my web site I will be provioding a selection of my favourate recipes that I have cooked at home for my friends and family. 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Eggs Florentine - The right way to start your day


When it comes to new years resolutions I have decided to keep it simple this year, I will be making the effort to get up 10 minuets earlier every day to get a real breakfast before I go to work.

This might not seem like much but to chef making this effort every morning will make a big difference to my lifestyle. It will mean the end of picking at food when I get to work and filling my day with real meals and not just grazing my way through meal times, that's the plan anyway.

This was what I chose to start my day with this morning, eggs Florentine with a latte whilst I listen to Nina Simone on my record player (not a bad way to start the day).

If you don't quite know what eggs Florentine is, it's a toasted English muffin with wilted spinach, soft poached egg, hollandaise sauce on top, along with a generous twist of freshly ground black pepper. It makes for a great way to start the day, packed with protein, iron and just about every vitamin know to man in the spinach.

The hollandaise is the only tricky bit to this recipe and to make that you will need the following.

1 egg yolk

25ml white wine vinegar

75g melted butter

Place the egg and vinegar in a bowl big enough to get a whisk into an place the bowl above a small pan with simmering water in the bottom.

Whisk the egg and vinegar over the water until it starts to thicken slightly, you should be able to make a figure of eight in the egg mixture, this will take about 2-3 minuets.

Remove the now cooked egg from the heat and slowly whisk in the melted butter a tablespoon at a time, if it start to get too thick add in a table spoon of warm water to let it out a little then continue to add the butter until it is all incorporated and season it to taste.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page